Grid taking shape for 75th CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa

Grid taking shape for 75th CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa

The grid for this year's CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa has begun to take shape following the announcement of the 2023 Fanatec GT Endurance Cup entry list. 

A 56-car field has been announced for the long-distance championship, though this number seems certain to grow for the Belgian endurance classic, which celebrates its 75th edition on 29 June – 2 July. 

The grid will feature at least seven brands, led by 11-strong entries from reigning overall winner Mercedes-AMG and fierce rival Audi Sport. The former has two Pro cars signed up for 2023, including defending winner Akkodis ASP with its flagship #88 machine. The other teams confirmed to run the AMG GT3 are GetSpeed, Mercedes-AMG Team AlManar by GetSpeed, Winward Racing, HRT, Madpanda Motorsport and debutant Theeba Motorsport.

Audi Sport will chase its first win in six years with significant Belgian interest thanks to multi-car entries from Boutsen VDS and Comtoyou Racing, while 2017 winner Saintéloc Racing is also well represented. The new Tresor Attempto Racing alliance will also be on-track with Audi machinery, its Pro car running under the Tresor Orange1 banner.

Porsche has announced an expanded assault this year with nine cars confirmed for the event. They include CLRT, a new entrant run by 2021 race-winning driver Côme Ledogar, and returning class winner Team Parker Racing. Car Collection Motorsport, Dinamic GT Huber Racing, Herberth Motorsport, Rutonik Racing and Pure Rxcing add to a varied Porsche roster. 

BMW also has increased firepower, with eight cars run by three teams – all of which are past CrowdStrikes 24 Hours of Spa winners. Team WRT has made the switch from Audi and will hope to add to the wins it took in 2011 and 2014, while long-time partners Rowe Racing and Walkenhorst Motorsport will also fly the BMW flag.   

Lamborghini will chase its maiden overall win in the Ardennes with strong Pro crews from Iron Lynx – which conquered the race in 2021 with Ferrari – and American squad K-PAX. The Iron Dames will go after another class triumph, while AGS Events, Barwell Motorsport and Grasser Racing Team will also deploy the new-spec Huracán EVO2. 

McLaren will be represented in the Pro ranks by Garage 59, while the British squad will also run a Bronze Cup crew and oversee the Sky Tempesta entry. Optimum Motorsport and newcomer 7TSIX bolster the British marque's ranks further. 

Last but not least, Ferrari will be represented by at least four cars. AF Corse will field a pair of Pro entries and a Bronze Cup crew, while ST Racing with Rinaldi will go after Silver Cup honours. The Pro entries will use the new 296 model while the class contenders will begin the Endurance Cup season using the previous-generation 488, though one or both may have switched to the 2023 machine in time for the 24 Hours. 

In terms of classes, the new Bronze Cup currently has the most cars with 18. There are 17 Pro entries, 12 in the Silver Cup, six in the Gold Cup and three in Pro-Am. 

A revised schedule for 2023 means preparations for the CrowdStrike 24 Hours of Spa will begin earlier than ever this season. The official test days will take place on 23-24 May, while the main event is set to run over the weekend of 1-2 July, with track activity beginning on Tuesday 27 June and continuing throughout the week.

The programme will include a packed line-up of support action from the Lamborghini Super Trofeo, Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine, GT4 European Series, GT4 Scandinavia, GT1 by Curbstone and the all-new McLaren Trophy Europe. The essential off-track element will also be at full strength, featuring the traditional parade, music concert and other fan favourites. 

A range of ticket options are available, beginning with Thursday/Friday access and running to the immersive General Entrance + Paddock ticket, which covers Thursday through Sunday and allows access around the circuit and to grandstands, the Fan Village, the Saturday night music concert and the paddock. Click here for more information


Season Entry list Endurance Cup: click here